UPPER OLD QUEBEC TOWN
In 1608, Samuel de Champlain chose Upper Town as the site of the Saint-Louis Fort. Ever since it was founded, it has remained the military and administrative centre of the city which was determined by the strategic heights of the promontory. After the British Conquest, Upper Town was mostly populated by British government officials and Catholic clergy members while French and English merchants and artisans lived in Lower Town.
The strong military presence in this area has long limited its expansion. By the end of the 19th century, some wanted the city’s fortifications to be demolished as they were deemed unnecessary and they interfered with urban development. Lord Dufferin would successfully persuade officials to conserve the city’s fortified appearance by adapting it to meet the needs of a modern-day city.
The area was subjected to some deterioration during the 1950s but it since gained impetus in the 1970s.
With its ramparts, citadel, century-old houses, historic sites and landmarks, Québec’s Upper Town has a rich heritage of several generations with beautiful, unique surroundings.
Most of the buildings date back to the 19th century with the construction of some dating as far back as the 17th and 18th centuries. The area has several commercial roads like Saint-Jean, Sainte-Anne and De Buade streets. Some public administration and other institutions found at the heart of the city include the Québec City Council, the Séminaire de Québec, the Ursulines Convent, and the Augustinian Monastery and l'Hôtel-Dieu de Québec. It also has a vast choice of accommodations including the famous Château Frontenac since Old Québec is among the most popular tourist destinations.
The area also has many well-maintained parks. Among some are the Esplanade, Artillerie, Des Gouverneurs and Montmorency parks along with the gardens of l’Hotel-de-Ville. People can also take advantage of the great view of the St. Lawrence River from place D'Youville and the Dufferin Terrace.
LOWER OLD QUEBEC TOWN
Lower Town is a historic district located at the foot of Cap Diamant. In 1608, Samuel de Champlain built a habitation where its remains can be found with Place Royale as its centre. It was restored with the goal of reconstructing the French flair from its origins. Construction of the Notre-Dame-des-Victoires Church started in 1687 at this location and was completed in 1723.The Musée de la civilisation, the Musée naval de Québec, the caserne Dalhousie and the Théâtre Petit Champlain are among some of the museums, performance halls, theatres and exhibition venues in Lower Town.
Places such as the Louise Basin, Brown Basin, La –Pointe-à-Carcy, the Gare du Palais and the Marche du Vieux-Port can be seen from the Port of Québec.